Just Like One Of My Own

A bit about myself, I have been watching Korean Dramas since 1999 but did not have any crush on any particular actor or actress. I am quite selective in what I watch. I suppose I started watching KDrama during the time of what they regarded as the first Hallyu wave with Lee Byung-Hun (Happy Together, Beautiful Days), Song Seung-Heon (Autumn in My Heart), Bae Yong-Joon (Winter Sonata), Jang Dong-Gun (All About Eve) and Kwon Sang-Woo (Stairway to Heaven).  I watch dramas based on good script/good acting, etc.

In 2010, I came across the drama Sungkyunkwan Scandal. I did not know any of the actors/actress in this drama but I liked the story/script and started watching it. In the first couple of episodes, Lee Sun-Joon was a bit stiff but I thought he was playing his character: upright and straight to the point. His acting got a lot better as each episode progressed and I was reading reviews on this drama and realized this was Yuchun’s first major drama and to be one of the lead actors made me curious about him.

I started doing research and found out that he used to belong to KPop group DBSK(TVXQ) and 3 of the 5 members left to form JYJ. I read all about their court cases and the contract, etc. I felt so strongly for these 3 young men and the injustice of what they had to go through. They are talented young men with so much potentials and it saddened me to see they were hindered from realizing their dreams. As a mother of 3 grown up children, I felt the need to support Yuchun like he is one of my own (motherly sense).

I was watching their performances on Youtube (DBSK days) and I was drawn to Yuchun straight away because I saw a beautiful young man who was sensitive, creative, loving, generous, humble and very gracious. He never cared about the limelight and still to this day he prefers to be in the background. He has a strong sense of values and his love for his family is overwhelming. Yuchun has this charisma and charm that draws you in and you cannot let go.

The rest is history. I never felt this strongly towards someone that I don’t know personally but I am having fun and loving every moment of it. I get to meet Chunsas along the way and hopefully one day we will meet in person.

combine_images

Written by: Smile

Australia

P7

Photos: as tagged+Littlefinger (JYJ Beijing Concert & Housewarming Party: Ep. 2)

2 thoughts on “Just Like One Of My Own”

  1. @Smile, your story is typical of those of us who unknowingly walked into a mine when we watched SKKS. And had our brains blown by Yu Chun’s charisma. Yet we are not those starry-eyed teeny- boppers who fall for Idol A today and switch to Idol B tomorrow. We are here to stay by his side.

    This guy must have something we can’t put our finger on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

